Round Three

CamilleMBrown
Photo by Lois Greenfield

 

By Camille M. Brown

When I was still in grammar school, I fell in love. The moment I saw Maya Plisetskaya perform with the Bolshoi Ballet I knew I wanted to be a dancer. I scrawled manifest destiny across my bedroom wall with an arrow pointing to a picture of red point shoes. My parents thought my love for dance would wane, but that passion became the driving force focusing my college career. After transferring from San Francisco State to U.C. Berkeley, I changed my major to Dance. I held my mother hostage by threatening to drop out if she demanded I double major. I graduated with a B.A. in Dramatic Arts /Dance after receiving both the Horence Schwimely Scholarship and the Eisner Prize for creativity in the highest order. I immediately moved to New York City. My dream became a reality when I joined the Martha Graham Dance Company. Eventually, I became a soloist and rendered many roles, worked with guest choreographer Twyla Tharp, and toured the world with the company for 6 years. In 1995, I was invited to audition for the Broadway revival of the King and I. As an ensemble member, Gold Ballet soloist, and understudy, it was my privilege to work with Lar Lubovitch on that production. And I am proud that I was an original company member of The Lion King.

But a dance career is ephemeral. So, I began to explore new avenues with Career Transition For Dancers. I wanted to spark that same tinderbox of passion and have that same feeling of certainty. But in truth, I was also paralyzed by fear. Even with the help and resources at CTFD, it took a long time to find the right path. I received the Caroline H. Newhouse Scholarship and used part of those funds to become a licensed real estate sales person. I began working with Weichert Realtors while still performing at The Lion King. Real estate was not a fit. What I finally realized was that my transition was right under my nose. A pattern of interest in both TV production and writing was clear. That interest drove me. I sought an internship with casting director, Ellen Parks. As her office assistant, I witnessed the pre-production of Flirting With Disaster. At Harvestworks Digital Media Center, I studied editing. And I begged my way into a PA position on set at The Insider filmed from the lobby of The Lion King. Similarly, I’ve been writing as long as I’ve been dancing. Through continuing education at NYU, I explored playwriting with Academy Award winner, James Lecesne. With Matt Hoverman, I mastered the one-person show form. At the People’s Improv Theater, I learned sitcom writing from Sarit Catz.

In the fall of 2013, I drew down the remainder of the grant after being accepted into the MFA Program for TV Production at Brooklyn College. This summer I was thrilled to receive the Sono Osato Scholarship Program for Graduate Studies. The scholarship will be applied toward my final year at Brooklyn College. The MFA in TV Production is a two-year TV production boot camp. This past semester I conceived content, filmed, edited, and wrote a lot of papers. In the fall term, I will be tackling multi-camera production, writing for TV, and documentary.

Oddly, I felt ready to move on because of the assistance from CTFD. At my age, most people might be thinking about retirement. But I feel that I’m just warming up for round three.

One thought on “Round Three

  1. Congrats Camille! I so enjoy hearing what others are up to post-dance. I am a scientist now, but still use elements of what I learned along the way every day!!

What do think?

